Star Wars Symbols: Deciphering the Galactic Alphabet


In a galaxy far, far away, the Star Wars franchise has captured the hearts of millions with its epic battles, intriguing characters, and rich lore. One of the lesser-explored star wars symbols aspects of this vast universe is the fascinating world of Star Wars symbols. These symbols are more than just intricate designs; they hold deep significance and meaning within the Star Wars narrative. In this article, we’ll embark on a journey to decipher the Galactic Alphabet, exploring the iconic symbols that have become synonymous with the Star Wars saga.

The Origin of Star Wars Symbols

 A Long Time Ago, in a Typography Studio

Star Wars symbols were created by legendary designer Ralph McQuarrie and artist Joe Johnston. In the early 1970s, as George Lucas was crafting his space opera masterpiece, he envisioned a galaxy with diverse cultures and languages. To breathe life into this vision, McQuarrie and Johnston set out to create a unique alphabet system that would make the Star Wars universe feel authentic and immersive.

Aurebesh – The Standard Galactic Alphabet

The most widely recognized Star Wars symbol system is Aurebesh, often referred to as the “Standard Galactic Alphabet.” Aurebesh consists of 26 characters, each corresponding to a letter in the English alphabet. For Star Wars fans, learning to read and write in Aurebesh has become a rite of passage.

Huttese Glyphs – The Language of the Hutt Cartel

The Hutts, notorious gangsters in the Star Wars galaxy, have their own set of symbols called Huttese Glyphs. These intricate characters are used for communication within the Hutt Cartel and are often seen on signs, labels, and cargo crates in the criminal underworld.

The Significance of Star Wars Symbols

More Than Just Pretty Designs

While Star Wars symbols certainly add visual flair to the galaxy, they also serve important narrative functions. They convey essential information, set the tone, and provide cultural depth to the various species and factions in the Star Wars universe.

Jedi and Sith Symbols

The Jedi and Sith, two opposing forces in the Star Wars saga, have their own distinct symbols. The Jedi Order’s symbol represents peace and balance, while the Sith emblem embodies power and dominance. These symbols are etched into lightsabers, temples, and artifacts, underscoring the eternal struggle between the light and dark sides of the Force.

Rebel Alliance and Galactic Empire Insignias

The Rebel Alliance’s emblem, a starbird, signifies hope and defiance against the oppressive Galactic Empire. On the other hand, the Empire’s insignia, known as the Imperial Cog, symbolizes order and control. These symbols encapsulate the overarching conflict in the Original Trilogy.

How to Learn Aurebesh

Mastering the Galactic Alphabet

Learning Aurebesh can be a fun and rewarding experience for any Star Wars enthusiast. There are numerous resources and guides available online, and you can even find interactive apps and games that help you become fluent in this unique alphabet.

Translating Your Name

One of the first things many fans do is translate their names into Aurebesh. It’s a fantastic way to make your mark in the Star Wars universe and proudly display your unique Aurebesh signature.


Star Wars symbols are not mere decorations; they are keys to unlocking the hidden depths of this beloved franchise. From Aurebesh to Huttese Glyphs, these symbols add layers of meaning, culture, and history to the galaxy far, far away. So, the next time you watch a Star Wars movie or read a Star Wars book, pay close attention to the symbols scattered throughout—you might discover a new dimension to the story.